Wesley land Leinster rugby club of the year

by Gazette Reporter
0 comment

OLD Wesley won the Leinster senior club of the Year Award with president Dave Bursey picking up the tophy at the Leinster Annual Awards Ball last Saturday.

The award was fully justified after a highly successful season for Old Wesley at all playing levels. The senior team won Division 2A of the All Ireland League, earning promotion to Division 1B for next season.

At junior level, the club’s seconds and fourths topped their respective leagues and gained promotion for next season while the thirds and fifths reached the final of their respective cup competitions.

With Under-20s finishing a highly credible second in their league, it made for a spectacular season all round.

Bursey is pictured receiving the award from Sean Cavanagh from trophy sponsors Canterbury at the Doubletree Hilton.

RTE’s Darragh Maloney was the MC for the evening with Leinster head coach Matt O’Connor, captain Jamie Heaslip and the rest of the province’s players also in attendance to celebrate, among other things, the careers of Leinster Rugby stalwarts Gordon D’Arcy and Shane Jennings.

Former St Mary’s, Leinster, Ireland and Lions back Johnny Moloney was inducted into the Leinster Rugby Guinness Hall of Fame and former Leinster and Ireland prop Fiona Coghlan receiving the Life Style Sports Special Merit Award.

Nine departing Leinster players were also awarded their caps in recognition of their achievements on the pitch.
Two of those departees included Jennings and D’Arcy who were interviewed on stage by former team mates Leo Cullen and Brian O’Driscoll.

Two tribute videos brought the house down as both received a standing ovation from the appreciative crowd.

Related Articles