Prizes stay in Dublin as 2013 regatta a big success

by Gazette Reporter
0 comment

Home-grown success was being toasted in Dun Laoghaire last week at the end of Ireland’s biggest sailing event of the year, the Volvo Dun Laoghaire regatta on Dublin Bay.

In spite of the presence of over 120 visiting boats, key trophies remained in the waterfront clubs after the prizegiving at the Royal Irish Yacht Club brought the curtain down on the 2013 event.

The Royal St George YC had success in seven classes, while Royal Irish sailors won six, including IRC classes 1 and 3, and the National YC won four one-design divisions. Meanwhile, Howth picked up two wins in IRC non-spinnaker divisions.

Trophies were awarded in each of the 25 competing classes plus several premier awards were presented.

The top overall prize, the Volvo Trophy, went to the Class II IRC winner Checkmate XV, a 1985 vintage half-tonner that has been extensively refitted.

The Nigel Biggs-skippered entry from the Royal St George Yacht Club, sailed by a group of friends, won all five races in its 26-boat fleet.

In what has been a successful season so far, Biggs now adds the Volvo crown to the national title which he claimed last month in County Kerry.

The biennial regatta is being hailed a success both afloat and ashore. A combined fleet of 393 boats raced over eight courses in a range of light to medium conditions since racing began last Thursday.

In the J109 class, John Maybury’s Joker II from the Royal Irish Yacht Club won the morning’s final race to overhaul Pat Kelly’s Storm and win Volvo honours and the Irish title too by a single point.

Another Royal Irish boat, Bon Exemple, the Xp33 skippered by Colin Byrne, was the winner of IRC one and also received the top IRC boat prize in the regatta. Second in IRC one was Scotland’s Now Or Never 3 with Byrne’s club mate Paul O’Higgin’s Rockabill V third.

Jean Mitton’s Levana from the Royal St. George has been awarded best one design performance of the competition following her win in the 17¬boat Beneteau 31.7 fleet, a results that bodes well for next month’s national championships on the same race track.

The next Dun Laoghaire regatta will be held mid-July 2015.

Related Articles