Iosagain crowned All-Ireland champs

by Gazette Reporter

SUPERSUB Hannah Ni Dhea netted the late goal to seal a dramatic 2-9 to 2-5 victory for Colaiste Íosagain, Stillorgan, in Saturday’s Tesco Homegrown Post Primary Schools All-Ireland senior A ladies football final at Dr Cullen Park in Carlow.

Ni Dhea goaled in stoppage time after Isolt Ni Riardain’s point in the final minute handed the winners a slender one-point lead against Colaiste Dun Iascaigh from Cahir, Tipperary.

The Dubliners were full value for the win but they had to work desperately hard for it after falling 0-1 to 1-3 behind within nine minutes.

In landing the national title, they became the first Dublin side to land the national team, closing out an outstanding year. Indeed, no side from the capital had won the Leinster championship prior to this year but the side, packed with players from Foxrock Cabinteely, Cuala, Kilmacud Crokes, Ballyboden St Enda’s, Naomh Olaf and Ballinteer St John’s showed their appetite for the big occasion.

Roisin Howard’s goal handed Dun Iascaigh the early initiative but Alanah Nic Eoin responded in kind for Colaiste Iosagain in the 14th minute to hand the newly-crowned champions a route back into the game.

At half-time, Iosagain had established a two-point lead, 1-6 to 1-4, and the scene was set for an incredible second half.

The sides traded early points in the second half before Dun Iascaigh bagged their second goal of the game in the 37th minute, with Caoimhe Condon on target.

That strike handed the Tipperary side a 2-5 to 1-7 lead but Ni Riardain’s 38th minute point levelled matters again.

Remarkably, the game remained scoreless from there until the final minute, when Ni Riardain popped over the lead score for Colaiste Iosagain.

And when Ni Dhea pounced from close range in stoppage time, the senior A silverware was heading for the capital for the very first time.

Related Articles