Brigid’s famous five

by Karl Graham

DUBLIN’S minor hurling team were crowned Leinster champions last Sunday in Croke Park after scoring two late goals to see off Wexford 2-12 to 0-12 with the help of five St Brigid’s players.
Jack O’Neill, Donnacha Ryan, Cian O’Sullivan and Johnny McGuirk all started the game, while David Hawkshaw entered the fray from the bench at the 40-minute mark.
And St Brigid’s minor manager Donal Smyth spoke to the GazetteSport about the pride the whole club felt at having five players in the team.
“We are very proud to have five players on the one team; it’s a huge achievement for any club,” said Smyth.
The talented five have all played together from a young age and were part of the St Brigid’s side who won both the football and hurling All-Ireland Feile’s four years ago.
“There is a great future in store for the lads and the club, and we are looking forward to watching them play senior for the club and keeping the great success going.”
Smyth said that knowing and playing with each other for so long has been a boost to their performances and believes Dublin are starting to reap the benefits.
“Some of them have played senior already and fitted in very easily so I think they can all definitely make the step up to the senior team,” said Smyth.
In the final itself, Wexford sprang out of the traps first to register two early points before forcing a superb vital save from Dublin goalkeeper Dara De Poire.
The Dubs managed to draw level with two placed balls from Colin Currie who, after Wexford went one point clear once more, finally scored their first from play in the 16th minute.
Donal Burke hit a hat-trick of points to give Dublin a bit of breathing space and with both teams scoring two points apiece, including a long range beauty from McGuirk, the score at the interval saw Dublin lead by 0-8 to 0-6.
Dublin started to get dominate more of the ball in the last quarter of the game but a failure to land several scores left them vulnerable to a Wexford comeback, which came in the form of four unanswered points to put them a point clear with just five minutes left on the clock.
However, it was Dublin who finished the stronger and when they complimented two more points with goals from McGuirk and Donal Burke, they landed their first Leinster title in four years.
Next up for Dublin will be an All-Ireland semi-final.

Related Articles