Brilliant Boden into Leinster final

by Cóilín Duffy

Leinster Senior Club Football Championship semi-final
Ballyboden St Enda’s 3-14
Garrycastle (Westmeath) 0-12

CLINICAL Ballyboden St. Enda’s led throughout, as they booked their place in the AIB Leinster Club SFC Final, following an 11-point semi-final win over Garrycastle at TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar on Sunday.

Goals were key for Anthony Rainbow’s charges who will now meet Éire Óg, Carlow in the Leinster decider on Sunday, December 8 at 2pm in MW Hire O’Moore Park in Portlaoise.

An incredible unbeaten streak in both league and championship continues for Boden, who will celebrate their 50th Anniversary with a major gala event in Citywest Hotel this Friday, before facing into the provincial decider.

Ten minutes into Sunday’s match, they led by six points; by the interval they had extended that gap by two, and at the final whistle the margin stood at 11 points.

Colm Basquel (1-3), Robbie McDaid (1-1) and 55th minute substitute James Holland fired the goals along the way, on a day when Dessie Dolan Jnr. called it a day for the Garrycastle Seniors, after a glittering career for both club and county – ending his on-field career with a seven-point haul, before being substituted in the 50th minute.

Rainbow, who came up against Dolan, both on the field; and while managing Carlow against Westmeath in the past, paid tribute to the 40-year old.

“He has been an incredible footballer for Garrycastle and for Westmeath over the last 20 years,” Rainbow said.

Focussing on what’s next to come, Rainbow is fully aware of the task ahead against a club with plenty of history in the Leinster senior football championship, and who are seeking to bridge a provincial gap stretching back to 1998 for their last silverware in this competition.

“Éire Óg are very, very good side,” he said.

“They have a lot of inter-county players with them – the likes of Eoghan Ruth.

“Sean Gannon is another one that would come to my mind. I would know a lot of them from my time down in Carlow.

“They are a very proud club with a great tradition. Between 1992 and 1998 they won five Leinster titles.

“They haven’t won one since, and they are gunning to come up and give us a game.”

Related Articles