Mearnóg hold off Raheny to secure senior 3 crown

by Aaron Dunne
0 comment

Naomh Mearnóg 1-14

Raheny 0-14

Naomh Mearnóg claimed the Go Ahead Dublin Senior 3 Hurling Championship title when overcoming Raheny by 1-14 to 0-14 at O’Toole Park.

Extra-time looked a distinct possibility during an absorbing final quarter but Mearnóg pounced for the all-important goal in the 60th minute through substitute Cian Madden to complete a deserved success.

The Portmarnock side seized the initiative in the first-half and they should have entered the break with a healthier advantage than the 0-10 to 0-5 interval lead that they enjoyed.

A total of 26 wides reflected their issues in front of goal but also highlighted their general control in open play with Liam Mullins scoring eight points over the hour, three of which came from open play.

At the opposite end of the field, their full-back line of Tom Cosgrove, Rory O’Loughlin and Jack Keogh never allowed their direct opponents to settle although Raheny were always likely to launch a second-half comeback, given the quality in their ranks.

Liam Dunne also managed an octet of points, half of which came from play, and they kept in contention thanks to the scoring contributions of Thomas Hurley (0-3), Adam McAweeney (0-2) and Seán Grenham (0-1).

However, with Joey Kinnane a towering presence at midfield, Naomh Mearnóg kept their nerve with Sean Hawkshaw (0-2) and Chris Farrelly threatening in their inside-forward lines while further scores from Bernard Deay, Diarmuid Keevey, Kinnane and Shane Nangle proved their weight in gold by the final whistle.

Related Articles