Here’s Lucan at you kids!

by Aaron Dunne
0 comment

Lucan Sarsfields 1-19

Kilmacud Crokes 1-18

Lucan Sarsfields claimed the Dublin Minor ‘A’ Hurling Championship title when pipping Kilmacud Crokes by 1-19 to 1-18 in their thrilling decider at O’Toole Park on Sunday morning.

Both teams played out a similarly competitive final last year with Crokes catching their opponents on the line on that occasion but the roles were reversed on Sunday as Lucan finished strongly, securing the coveted prize thanks to a brilliant point from distance by inspirational captain Cathal Kennedy.

There was little to separate the teams throughout with three Darragh Lyons frees keeping Lucan in touch in the early stages.

Sarsfields then put daylight between the teams thanks to a trio of scorers on the bounce from David Mulqueen, Sean Langton and the influential Ryan Clancy.

However, Crokes responded impressively with defenders James Dunphy, Conal Ó Riain and Calum McClean to the fore as they struck six unanswered points to lead by 0-11 to 0-7 at the break.

Their situation improved further in the 33rd minute as Oran O’Keeffe netted but their opponents refused to buckle as they stayed in the hunt following points from Clancy, Eoin Conheady and Lyons.

The free taking of Crokes captain Ruairi Walsh ensured his side remained in front but parity was restored when Senan Bolger scored a superb individual goal in the 59th minute.

Walsh responded with another free to edge his team back in front but after Lyons had scored his ninth point of the morning, Kennedy drove forward from centre-back to produce a fittingly dramatic conclusion to another memorable clash between these great teams.

Lucan celebrate their thrilling Dublin Minor ‘A’ Club Hruling Championsip over Kilmacud Crokes; (inset) Sarsfields mentors Cillian Murray, Fergal Walsh, Diarmuid Kennedy, Kevin Meehan and Fintan Clandillion (mentor Luke Walsh was missing due to his involvement with the club’s senior footballers).

Related Articles