Lucan pay the penalty in thriller

by Gazette Reporter
0 comment

Kilmacud Crokes 0-27

Lucan Sarsfields 0-27

(AET; Crokes win 3-1 on pens)

By Rory Merriman

In a riveting clash last Saturday morning, the Dublin U-21 ‘A’ Hurling Championship final between Kilmacud Crokes and Lucan Sarsfields unfolded at O’Toole Park, culminating in a dramatic 3-1 penalty shootout victory for Kilmacud Crokes.

This triumph marked a sweet reversal for Crokes after an intense encounter just six days earlier when the two clubs clashed in the enthralling Minor ‘A’ championship final

On the crisp morning that it was, the sodden pitch made for a dogged battle which ended in a 0-27 draw after extra-time.

The first half of the Under 21 final showcased the razor-thin margin between the two teams, with Lucan Sarsfields leading by a narrow 0-11 to 0-10 at the break.

Sean Harkness, exhibiting his prowess, notched up a couple of remarkable points for Sarsfields. The pendulum swung further in Sarsfields’ favor as they surged four points ahead in the second half.

However, Kilmacud Crokes, spurred on by the defensive brilliance of Cian Ó Cathasaigh and Leo Fearon, mounted a resilient comeback, bringing the scores level at 0-20 apiece by full-time.

Brendan Scanlan emerged as a central figure for Kilmacud, showcasing his wizardry with an impressive tally of twelve points.

The attacking trio of Dara Purcell (0-5), Sean Purcell (0-1), and Conor Hughes (0-2) complemented Scanlan’s efforts, contributing significantly to the team’s offensive dominance.

The seesaw battle kept spectators on the edge of their seats, with both sides refusing to yield.

As the final whistle beckoned, the deadlock persisted, necessitating the high-stakes drama of a penalty shootout. Kilmacud Crokes held their nerve, securing a 3-1 victory in the shootout.

Brendan Scanlan, Darren Crowley, and Brendan Kenny showcased their composure and precision, ensuring Crokes’ triumphant finish to a closely contested championship final.

The resilient spirit, individual brilliance, and collective determination on display throughout the match underscored the essence of hurling’s thrilling unpredictability.

Kilmacud Crokes’ Under 21 team etched their names in the annals of Dublin hurling history with this hard-fought and exhilarating championship triumph.

Related Articles