Clonliffe’s Nolan is easy winner of Battle of Clontarf 10-mile 

by Gazette Reporter
0 comment

Lindie Naughton

Karl Nolan (Clonliffe Harriers, M35) had a comfortable win at the Battle of Clontarf 10-mile held in, St Anne’s Park, Raheny, Dublin on Easter Monday.

The race incorporated the Leinster Championships.  

Nolan’s times of 54 mins 16 seconds put him almost half a minute clear of Anthony Sharkey (Rathfarnham WSAF AC, M35) who finished second in  54:53 Fiona Stack  (Raheny Shamrock AC, W40) was second  woman in 61:37 .

Raheny won the senior women’s team category and finished second of the men.

 In the master team classes, Clonliffe won the M35 category, ahead of Raheny Shamrock, while LSA AC  beat Mullingar Harriers by a single point to win the W35 category; Crusaders AC was third.

For the M50 title, Raheny beat Tullamore Harriers by three points, with Clonliffe third.

 Blackrock AC, led by Grainne Grennan W65, was first W50 team followed by Clonliffe Harriers and Raheny Shamrock AC. A total of 359 completed the race.

Special congrats to new club Coolock AC who had teams in all but one of the categories.

Kieran Kelly (Raheny Shamrock AC) was a clear  winner of  the Beragh 5-Mile,  in St Mary’s Park, Beragh, Co Tyrone on  Saturday (March 30) in a time of 25 mins 31 secs.

Elsewhere, Santry Stadium was the venue on Thursday evening (March 28) for the Frank White Trophy – the only 5-Mile track race in Ireland and the opening round of the 2024 Clonliffe Harriers Grand Prix Series, with year, athletes from Ballymun AC, Coolock AC, Raheny Shamrocks AC, LSA AC, Dunboyne AC, Skerries AC and Crusaders AC welcomed into the series, along with Clonliffe members.

With almost a hundred entered, two separate races took place. Neck and neck in the first race were Clonliffe’s own Sean Doran and Anthony Brady  of Coolock RC, with Doran finally breaking away for victory in 27 mins 26 secs, Brady second in 27:35 and Declan Power of Clonliffe third in 27:46.  

Athletes from the host club dominated the women’s race with Siobhan Devaney  the winner in 34:07,  followed by Maura Matthews in 35:07 and Aisling Andrews in 35:11 .

Winning the second race was Lee Duddy in 32:00 followed by Alan Worrall in 34:33 and Mick Gleeson third in 34:55.  Elaine McLoughlin was first women in 36:19 followed by Laura Kernan 36:38 with Orla Deighan third in 36:59.

After the handicaps were worked out,  Lynette Richardson of Ballymun AC was declared the winner of the Frank Duffy Trophy ahead of  Clonliffe pair Dermot Faughan and Karen McAffee.  

Next round  in the 15 round Grand Prix Series is the McDonald Cup 4-Mile, again in Santry Stadium, on Thursday evening April 11 (8pm).

Full details

David Jackson (Rahney Shamrock), Gregory Lowry (Coolock RC)in action at the Clontarf 10-mile road race.

Related Articles