Adeleke breaks more Irish records in USA

by Aaron Dunne
0 comment

As is so often the case these days,  the Dublin – and Irish – athletics performance of the weekend came from Tallaght AC’s Rhasidat Adeleke who broke her own Irish records for 60m and 200m at the Dr Martin Luther King Jr. Collegiate Invitational in Albuquerque, New Mexico on Saturday (January 20)

Adeleke – a 400m specialist don’t forget –won the 60m  in 7.15  secs and then ran a time of 22.49 in the 200m. Her previous best times were 7.17 secs for 60m run in 2022 and 22.52 for 200m run in 2023.

Israel Olatunde of UCD AC was in action at Jablonec, Czech Republic  on Saturday (January 20) ,  running a time of 6.76 for 60m, which puts him top of the current Irish rankings. Also in action in Jablonec was Eric Favors of Raheny Shamrock AC  who was third in the shot with a 19.99 effort. In the 100m, Mollie O’Reilly of DSD AC ran a personal best 11.93 when finishing second in the race.

In Dortmund, Germany, comeback kid Sophie Becker (inset) of Raheny Shamrock ran a time of  54.09 for second place in the B final.

In Wales, Cillian Kirwan of  Raheny Shamrock AC won the men’s 800m A race at the BMC Indoor meet in Cardiff, on Sunday (January 21). Kirwan was a clear winner of the race in 1:51.27. In the women’s A 1500m, Ellie Hartnett  of UCD AC finished third in 4:24.52.  

Dublin winners at the National Junior Indoors in Athlone on Saturday (January 20) were Saoirse Fitzpatrick (Lucan Harriers in the 800m, with Zoie Richie (Rathfarnham WSAF AC) second; Molly Mullally (DSD AC) won triple jump, Siun Quinn (Bros Pearse AC) high jump and Sean Aigboboh (Tallaght AC) the 60m.

27 August 2023; Sophie Becker of Ireland before competing in the Women’s 4x400m Relay final during day nine of the World Athletics Championships at the National Athletics Centre in Budapest, Hungary. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

In the U23 Championships,  Nkemjika Onwmereh (MSB AC)  won the 60m, with  Michael Farrelly  (Raheny Shamrock AC second, while Joe Doody (Cabinteely AC) won the 400m with David Doyle (DSDAC) second. Dara Donoghue (Lucan Harriers) won the 800m and Sam Vines (Cabinteely AC)  the shot. Of the women, Kate O’Connell (Lucan Harriers) won the 400m,  Susie Nestor (UCD AC) the 800m and Eimear Maher (DSD AC)the 1500m.

Related Articles