All-Star showdown in DLGFA decider

by Stephen Findlater

A GLUT of All-Star nominees will battle it out for the Dublin ladies Gaelic football senior title this weekend as Kilmacud Crokes and Foxrock Cabinteely on Saturday in Parnell Park (7.45pm).

Kilmacud’s Eabha Rutledge, Aoife Kane and Lauren Magee were all on the All-Star list of nominees released earlier this week along with Foxrock Cabinteely’s Niamh Collins and Sinead Goldrick.

They were all part of the Dublin side who made history by claiming a third successive title in front of a record 56,114 attendance at Croke Park.

They lead the way with 13 nominations for the annual awards with Galway and Mayo who have nine nominees each.

The 2019 TG4 All Star team will be announced at a gala banquet at the Citywest Hotel on Saturday, November 16, along with the Junior, Intermediate and Senior Players’ Player of the Year award winners, the Provincial Young Players of the Year and the 2019 inductee into the Ladies Gaelic Football Association (LGFA) Hall of Fame.

Before then, the southside contingent will swap from being friends to foes as they hope to have even more silverware under their belts with this Saturday’s battle set to be an intriguing contest.

Kilmacud are lining out in their first ever Dublin final following a goalfest in Bray on Monday evening in the semis. They fired five first half goals against St Sylvester’s to build a 5-8 to 1-6 lead and they stayed well out of range in the second half, only conceding a single goal – the final score was 7-15 to 2-6.

The second semi saw the experienced Foxrock come back from a three-point half-time deficit to defeat Thomas Davis.

They were 2-5 to 2-2 late into the evening at the break but a big second half replay saw them win out 4-6 to 2-9 against the Tallaght side to take up their place in the decider. Foxrock are going for their fifth successive Dublin title and sixth in total since 2012.

Related Articles