Pauw reveals squad as Doyle picks up may gong

by Aaron Dunne
0 comment

Manager Vera Pauw is keen to work closely with the players in the build-up to International Friendly games against Zambia (June 22), France (July 6) and Colombia (July 14) before their World Cup kicks off on July 20 against co-hosts Australia.

Using periodisation, the training camp schedule will factor in when players finished their respective club seasons, the loads that they can and need to take on plus the recovery times and routines that they require.

This is to ensure that all players will be in line with each other when entering the final stage of preparation in a safe way. This will be achieved through the use of STATSports technology monitored closely by the team’s sport scientist and technical staff.

The training sessions will be split between UCD and the FAI National Training Centre over a four-week block.

Captain Katie McCabe along with three US-based players – Denise O’Sullivan, Sinead Farrelly and Marissa Sheva – will link up with the squad after the Zambia game, while defender Aoife Mannion is being monitored after picking up a knock.

Four players from the SSE Airtricity Women’s Premier Division are part of the group, including uncapped Erin McLaughlin who has impressed in WNT Training Sessions.

A final squad for the World Cup, consisting of 23 players, will be whittled down by June 29 ahead of the send-off game in Tallaght Stadium against France.  The squad will then depart on July 7.

Ireland WNT Squad:

Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (Reading), Megan Walsh (Brighton ), Sophie Whitehouse (Lewes);

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham), Áine O’Gorman (Shamrock Rovers), Louise Quinn (Birmingham), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Diane Caldwell (Reading), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Claire O’Riordan (Celtic), Megan Campbell (Liverpool), Chloe Mustaki (Bristol City), Tara O’Hanlon (Peamount);

Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina), Megan Connolly (Brighton), Ruesha Littlejohn (A Villa), Jamie Finn (Birmingham), Ciara Grant (Hearts), Lily Agg (London City Lionesses), Sinead Farrelly (NY/NJ Gotham), Lucy Quinn (B’ham), Erin McLaughlin (Peamount);

Forwards: Heather Payne (Florida State Uni), Leanne Kiernan (Liverpool), Abbie Larkin (Shamrock Rovers), Kyra Carusa (Lionesses), Amber Barrett (Potsdam Turbine), Marissa Sheva (Washington Spirit), Saoirse Noonan (Durham WFC).

Sadhbh Doyle of Peamount United with her SSE Airtricity Player of the Month Award for May 2023 at Peamount United FC in Greenogue, Dublin. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

WNT manager Vera Pauw during the launch of the Republic of Ireland women’s FIFA Women’s World Cup school activity book at Blanchardstown

Related Articles