Dubs deliver Euro crown for Irish Banshees

by Cóilín Duffy

Dublin quartet Aimee Clarke, Ali Coleman, Sinead Comerford and Lauren Manning were part of the Irish Banshees team that retained European Aussie Rules Womens silverware in wet and mucky conditions at Wimbledon Park, London.

The Irish side coached by Mike Currane didn’t concede a score in the lead-up to the final, with wins over Great Britain (10-10 to 0-0); Germany (8-9 to 0-0), Great Britain (8-10 to 0-0) and Germany (4-10 to 0-0) in a group stages format which saw them play each team twice.

They continued their strong form in the decider, with inter-county Ladies Gaelic Footballers Kim Flood from Louth (6) and Leitrim’s Aine Tighe (3) to the fore in the goal-scoring stakes.

Mella Morey captained the side to victory for the second year in a row, thanks to a 13-27 to 0-0 win over Germany in the decider as Ireland claimed their seventh Euro Cup title in nine years.

Leinster Rugby player Clarke, and Castleknock duo Comerford and Manning along with Foxrock-Cabinteely player Ali Coleman were all impressive for the Banshees throughout the tournament.

80 minutes was tough going, but the girls were working really hard,” skipper Morey told the Dublin Gazette after the game.

“We prepared really well for this competition and we got through it with a nice big win for us today.

“There was no pressure on ourselves, but we did want to get the lead in the game and let Germany know that we meant business.”

Indeed the Irish Banshees have only lost three games since 2014 – and were unbeaten in the current competition in the lead-up to the final.

“The sport has really grown in Ireland, there’s a lot of new clubs (including the Cill Dara Sharks) and we are building the squad all the time.”

Mella said it was brilliant to captain her country to victory.

“It’s a huge privilege and a great honour to captain Ireland, it’s just fantastic!”

The Irish Warriors mens team came third, with an 11-14 to 0-2 win over Croatia in the third/fourth playoff.

The Irish squad featured Gene Casey, Kevin Hanlon and Gavin Murray from the South Dublin Swans.

Dublin native Liam Burns who plays with the Manchester Mosquitoes also featured and was one of four Irish players honoured in the Men’s Team of the Tournament on Saturday night.

Related Articles