Jackies up for nine football  awards

by Aaron Dunne
0 comment

Dublin have nine footballers shortlisted on the list of 45 nominations for the 2021 TG4 Ladies Football All Star awards.

Champions Meath, who toppled the Jackies in the final, lead the way with 14 nominations.

Five players from the 2019 TG4 All Star team are nominated for awards again; namely Meath goalkeeper Monica McGuirk, Cork’s Melissa Duggan, Dublin duo Carla Rowe and Lyndsey Davey, and Mayo’s Rachel Kearns. 

Dublin’s nominees are Carla Rowe, Lyndsey Davey, Ciara Trant, Martha Byrne, Leah Caffrey, Orlagh Nolan, Lauren Magee, Jennifer Dunne and Hannah Tyrrell.

Read more in this weeks Dublin Gazette out in stores now

One player will be chosen from the three shortlisted in each of the positions to make up the final selection, with the exception of midfield, where two from six will be chosen.

The 2021 TG4 All Star team will be announced at a gala banquet at Dublin’s Bonnington Hotel on Saturday, November 13.

The 2021 TG4 Junior, Intermediate and Senior Players’ Player of the Year award winners will also be announced on the night.

2021 TG4 Dublin All-Star nominations:

  • Goalkeepers: Ciara Trant
  • Right corner: Martha Byrne
  • Left corner: Leah Caffrey 
  • Left half-back: Orlagh Nolan; Midfield: Lauren Magee, 
  • Jennifer Dunne
  • Right half-forward: 
  • Hannah Tyrrell
  • Centre-forward: Lyndsey Davey Left half-forward: Carla Rowe 
Click on link to read more in this weeks Digital Edition

Related Articles