De La Salle named top school for 2018

by Stephen Findlater
0 comment

De La Salle Churchtown were honoured as the Badminton Ireland School of the Year following an exceptional year in their long history in the sport.

The voluntary secondary school has a strong tradition in the sport since its formation in 1952 with students offered “shuttle time” and the chance to develop badminton as their sport for life to a broad spectrum of students.

“As a school, we very much work together with the community in badminton inviting our primary feeder schools to join us at Open Day and integrate for playing sessions,” the school’s Lynn McCrave explains.

“Badminton is the biggest individual sport in our school with training days structured to allow every student badminton as well as other sports.”

The schools has participated in the schools league since the mid 70s and their name appears on many of the schools trophies over the years. Currently, with 320 students playing badminton in 10 teams playing across the age groups in the Dublin schools badminton league this year.

The U-16A team, captained by Russel Flores, won the Dublin Schools Badminton League against Lycee Francais d’Irlande and continued on to take third place in the Leinster Finals after many matches going right to the wire.

The U-19A boys, captained Conor Bradley, was awarded U-19 Dublin Schools Badminton Score Keeper of the Year and De La Salle College Player of the Year.

His team was piped at the post for the Dublin finals but a young team is looking forward to another fine year next time around.

At U-14A level, Andrew Nolan – who captained the team with his twin brother Ciaran – won his singles title but the team of Jusiah Mahdy, Brian Pierce, Elliott Looney and Ben Boylan just lost on gold after a well fought match against Templeogue College.

All in all De La Salle College have had a much rewarded hard worked year between all the boys and more than well deserved their accolade of the most sort after trophy in the 32 counties, Badminton Ireland School of the Year Award.

Badminton in the school is sponsored by SuperValu, Churchtown.

Related Articles