Ladies Junior ‘E’ Football Championship Final

by Gazette Reporter
0 comment

Round Tower Clondalkin 2-20

Crumlin 1-11

Cóilín Duffy

Round Tower Clondalkin’s ascension up the ranks continued, as they delivered a Go-Ahead Junior E Ladies Football Championship success at St. Margaret’s GAA Club on Friday night.

In front of a large crowd, Frankie Roebuck’s charges certainly impressed, and although they trailed early on this was for a brief spell, as they ultimately went on to lift silverware. They delivered an impressive win on the scoreboard, but it wasn’t all easy.

Crumlin were eager from the off and forced Towers keeper Caitríona McGrath to make an early save after an Alex Hodgins goal effort.

Hodgins did find the back of the net in the second half, but at that stage there was a nine-point gap, and Towers responded well on the way to silverware.

The first score of the hour, came from Alanna Hodgins soon after Alex’s goal chance, but Crumlin’s lead was short-lived.

Just 30 seconds later Emily Burke led by example, firing the first of her nine points in this game – and with a goal also added to her tally by the final whistle, she claimed the Go-Ahead Ireland Player of the Match award.

Go Ahead Junior E Final – Crumlin Vs Round Tower Clondalkin 280723 – St Margarets GAA All Images are protected under The Copyright and Related Rights Act 2000. Not to be used without expressed written permission from Mandatory Credit – Maurice Grehan/

Towers’ first goal came after three minutes, with Jenny Cleary-Burns had the vision and guts to fire to the net from 40 metres out, as the Crumlin defence was left exposed.

Scores continued to flow well for the Clondalkin side, with points from Emma O’Malley (2) and Burke opening up a five-point lead after just seven minutes.

Crumlin got scores from Alex and Alanna Hodgins either side of a Megan Hoyte effort, but Towers were taking their chances well, and led by 1-11 to 0-5 after 20 minutes.

Soon after Towers cut in for a goal chance, but Emily Burke was denied after Crumlin keeper Mel Moore forced a 45’.

Towers kept going, with Gráinne Heduan becoming their seventh scorer, before unanswered points from Burke (2) and Julia O’Flannery ensured a 1-15 to 0-5 interval lead.

Crumlin were wasteful in the latter stages of the opening half, and fired their sixth wide early on the restart, but soon settled with points from Abby Ryan and Caoimhe Murphy.

Amazingly after being so prolific in front of the posts in the opening half, Towers found themselves unable to score between the 29th and 46th minutes – the third quarter passing them by without being able to reach the target.

Crucially for them, Crumlin only managed three points during this spell, with substitute Hannah Murray adding to their tally seconds after her introduction.

Towers eventually broke their duck with Burke registering her eighth point, before Heduan followed up with a fine score.

Crumlin found the net through Alex Hodgins in the 48th minute, but 60 seconds later Burke responded with a vital goal.

The sides traded points twice between then and the 59th minute, and although Alanna Hodgins registered her fifth point early in injury-time it was far too late for Crumlin.

After the game Dublin LGFA Chairperson Joe Keane presented the cup to Round Tower Clondalkin captain Emily Burke.

Along with thanking Sponsors Go Ahead Ireland, players, management, match Officials and the St. Margaret’s club, Joe had a special word also for Dublin LGFA Secretary Mary O’Connor wishing her the best as she recovers from a serious illness.

There was a chance though to get a rendition of ‘Happy Birthday’ in for Round Tower’s Suzanne McCarthy – a double celebration then, as the Clondalkin outfit move up the Junior ranks.

Go Ahead Junior E Final – Crumlin Vs Round Tower Clondalkin 280723 – St Margarets GAA All Images are protected under The Copyright and Related Rights Act 2000. Not to be used without expressed written permission from Mandatory Credit – Maurice Grehan/

In her speech Emily Burke thanked Crumlin for a brilliant game and said they had really put it up to them and they are looking forward to meeting them in the league. Along with thanking all the officials involved and the St. Margaret’s Club she praised the mentors involved with Towers – Frankie Roebuck, Ken Barry, Padraig McCarthy and Marc Taylor for their dedication and support. She also mentioned their wives/partners Sinead, Tracy, Anita and Fiona for their backing.

Emily said that the club have come a long way from having no team three years ago. “We want to play at a higher level and so we are working our way up, we are doing our best to pave the way for the younger girls coming through.

“As you would notice, some of us are ‘over the hill a bit’ and getting on! We aren’t always going to be there, so we are trying to build up the younger players to come up so they can take over and get into a good Division and hopefully Intermediate Championship and on to Senior someday, because that’s where Towers want to be!”

Scorers for Round Tower Clondalkin: Emily Burke (2f) 1-9; Gráinne Heduan 0-4; Jenny Cleary-Burns 1-0; Megan Hoyte, Emma O’Malley 0-2 each; Suzanne McCarthy, Aoife Robertson, Julia O’Flannery 0-1 each.

Scorers for Crumlin: Alex Hodgins 1-2; Alanna Hodgins 0-5; Caoimhe Murphy (1f) 0-2; Hannah Murray, Abby Ryan 0-1 each.

ROUND TOWER CLONDALKIN: Caitríona McGrath; Eibhlín Roebuck, Amanda Cassidy, Sarah Jane Fagan; Christina Gelera, Yazmin O’Neill, Gráinne Heduan; Suzanne McCarthy, Emma O’Malley; Tami Sheridan, Nathalie Halpin, Megan Hoyte; Jenny Cleary-Burns, Emily Burke, Julia O’Flannery. Subs: Aoife Robertson for Gelera (18); Kate Whelan for Cleary-Burns (51); Sophia Gelera for Sheridan (58); Jessica Nolan for Roebuck (60) Panel: Fran Hyland, Erin McCormack, Sarah McVeigh, Nora Aja.

CRUMLIN: Mel Moore, Kate Aherne, Ella Steacy, Nicola Johnson; Saoirse Gavigan, Grainne Smith, Rachel Roe; Rebecca Horan, Paris Chebah; Ciara O’Sullivan, Alanna Hodgins, Alex Hodgins; Lynn Morrissey, Abby Ryan, Caoimhe Murphy. Subs: Other Subs: Ella Sinclair for Morrissey (20); Niamh Fitzsimons for O’Sullivan (33); Hannah Murray for Smith (43); Emma Creighton for Murphy (60). Panel: Caoimhe Cooke, Shannon Dunne, Eva Doyle, Aoife Magee, Méabh Mac Manamon, Erin Best.

REFEREE: Paul Brogan (Maynooth)

Related Articles