ATHLETICS: Swords’ Gavin’delighted’ at surprise Phoenix win

by Gazette Reporter
0 comment

Lindie Naughton

MORE than  2,800  runners finished the Dublin Race Series Frank Duffy 10-Mile, held in the Phoenix Park, which incorporated the Dublin Championships., with Swords native David Glynn was the surprise winner of the men’s race in 52:39.

   “I am absolutely delighted with the win. I can’t believe it. I felt good at the start, and I just pushed it and the gap opened-up,” he said, adding that he plans to race in both up and coming the Irish Life Dublin Half Marathon and Marathon.

Taking the Dublin individual men’s title was Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrock AC  who finished second overall in 53.00 and led Raheny Shamrock AC to team victory ahead of Crusaders AC and Donore Harriers.  

Kenneth Nugent of Donore Harriers finished second individual and Brendan Murphy of Crusaders third.

First  Dublin woman was Yuliya Tarasova of Clonliffe Harriers,  third overall in 64:53, followed by Grace Kennedy Clarke of Donore Harriers and Fiona Stack of Raheny Shamrock AC.

In the team competition, Donore Harriers finished first ahead of Clonliffe Harriers and Crusaders AC.

19 August 2023; David Glynn on his way to winning the Irish Life Race Series– Frank Duffy 10 Mile at Phoenix Park in Dublin. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Winning both over 35 team titles were Crusaders AC. The women’s  team came home ahead of  Brothers Pearse AC and Raheny Shamrock AC, while the men beat Clonliffe Harriers and Dundrum South Dublin AC. In the over 50 age group, Brothers Pearse AC was best of the men’s teams with Clonliffe Harriers second and Blackrock AC third.  Raheny Shamrock AC, the only complete team to finish,  took the women’s title

Men’s age group winners were Danny O’Sullivan (Donore Harriers) M40, Peter Gaffney (Donore Harriers)  M50, Edwin Keville (Rathfarnham WSAF AC)  M55,  John O’Leary (Portmarnock AC) M60, Michael Walsh (Bros Pearse AC) M65.  Máirtín Ó Goibín (Bros Pearse AC) was first junior.  

Of the women,  winners were Ariana Ball (Donore Harriers) W40,  Mary Ketterer (Clonliffe Harriers) W45, Donna Mahon (Rathfarnham WSAF AC) W50, Caroline Murphy (Bros Pearse AC) W55, Grainne Grennan (Blackrock AC) W60, Mary Lynch (Raheny Shamrock AC) W65.

Winner David Glynn, centre, with second placed Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrock AC, Dublin, left, and third-placed Peter Somba of Dunboyne AC in Meath after the Frank Duffy 10 Mile at Phoenix Park. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Related Articles