ATHLETICS: Easter battle of Clontarf at St Anne’s Park

by Aaron Dunne
0 comment

St Anne’s Park was the venue on Easter Monday (April 10) for  the Battle of Clontarf 10 mile  hosted by Raheny Shamrock AC  and incorporating the Leinster Championships.

Peter Somba of Dunboyne AC was a clear winner of the race in 51 mins 55 secs, with Mick Fogarty of Ferbane AC  second and first M40 in 43:14 and Karl Nolan of Clonliffe Harriers third and first M35 in 53: 24.

Raheny Shamrock AC, led by Mark Kirwan in fifth place, finished best of the men’s teams, with Dublin taking the senior and M35 county titles and Offaly first M50 team. First woman in 61:45 was Caroline Donnellan of Edenderry AC; first Dublin  finishers was Caroline McLoughlin of Dublin Bay RC in 63:49.  

Tullamore Harriers were clear winners of the women’s senior team title ahead of Raheny Shamrock AC and Crusaders AC.

Tullamore Harriers was also first W35 team  with Lucan Harriers  second and also first W50 team.

For the county title, Offaly beat Dublin and Westmeath and also took the W35 title; Dublin  took the W50 title.

At the Streets of Kilkenny 5km on Thursday evening, Rathfarnham WSAF’s Mitchell Byrne was a fighting second  in a race won by Andrew Coscoran of Meath club Star of the Sea AC. Byrne finished in 14 mins 22 secs.

Next of the Dublin club runners was Killian Mooney who was leading Dundrum South Dublin to a second team victory in the  Peugeot Series mixed team category.

Making up the DSD AC team were Sean Quinn who was 10th overall and third junior and Fiona Clinton 6th woman, backed up by Sarah Mulligan, Ciara  Wilson Bowen and Aidan Murphy. Rathfarnham WSAF AC finished fifth team in this category.  

DSD AC also finished third in the men’s team category, followed by Rathfarnham WSAF AC fifth and Clonliffe Harriers, led by Cathal McHale, eighth. Brothers Pearse AC, led by Sinead Tighe finished sixth of the women’s teams.

The race  was the second round of the Pager Road Race Series which will continue until August.

Abroad,  Efrem Gidey of Clonliffe Harriers was the winner of the Bristol Track Club 5km in 13 mins 39 secs.

* Entry for the first Dublin Graded Track and Field Meet of the season at UCD on Saturday April 29 will open on April 24 and close on April 27. Events are the 100m, 800, 3000m and paced miles as well as the Dublin Championships shot and hammer.  The Dublin Pole Vault Championships will not take place at UCD but at DSD’s track on Tibradden Road (1.30pm).

A minimum of four must enter for those field events to go ahead. On the  track, men are divided into four grades and women into two.

The competition  will begin at 12 noon with the paced miles  and finished at about 5.30pm with the 3000m.  

* Starting on Wednesday (April 12)  with a 8.6km trot taking in Belmont and the Little Sugar Loaf is the ever popular Leinster Evening Hill Running League.

Making up the league are 13 races at distances between 6km and 12km; the best seven results count. See for more details

Efrem Gidey of Clonliffe Harriers was the winner of the Bristol Track Club 5km in 13 mins 39 secs.

Related Articles