Sean O’Connor’s debut book The Mongrel is available in every good book store from September 29
Sean O’Connor’s debut book The Mongrel is available in every good book store from September 29

If you love a good scary read at Halloween, a new offering will be hitting the shelves by Rathfarnham native Sean O’Connor.

The Mongrel is set in modern day Ireland on the outskirts of Dublin City where a young couple’s relationship hangs by a thread.

Pregnant Erin Greene and her fiance Philip decide to go on a drive and head for Erin’s favourite place as a child, the Wicklow Mountains.

However, a simple oversight leaves them both stranded, with no fuel and a blizzard due. With no other choice, Philip heads off to the nearest town in search of help, leaving his fiancée alone.

With Philip gone and the inevitability of a snowstorm looming, Erin, in order to survive, must battle against her plagued mind and the supernatural elements that lie hidden deep in the hills.

Author Sean O’Connor said his debut book is a tale of modern day life in Ireland with a few nods towards the housing crisis and the stresses that people in the age group of 25 to 35 face in this day and age.

Fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz and Adam Nevill will enjoy the fastpaced plot, while being engrossed as they get sucked into Erin Greene’s fight for survival.

Sean told Dublin Gazette what kind of readers the book would appeal to: “Generic horror fans. Stephen King fans. I aimed for the book to be dark and grim, so people who are fans of Cormac McCarthy would like it.”

From a young age he became fascinated with fiction, particularly stories based on the supernatural and horror.

The Rathfarnham author grew up in a creative world: “I was always interested in creative stuff. I played in bands for the best part of a decade. I’m always a big fan of films and I’m a big reader myself,” said Sean O’Connor.

What is interesting about The Mongrel is that it is set in Ireland. Sean told us that it is nice for readers to have a local ghost story.

He said: “There’s not a lot of Irish horror books. It’s predominantly America and the UK. It’s nice for readers who have an interest in that to re-engage with their local ghost stories and folklore.”

Sean’s debut book The Mongrel is available in every good book store from September 29.

You can also catch Sean at the book launch at Hodges Figgis on Dawson Street on Tuesday, October 23 at 6pm with special guest authors Jonathan Barry (The Devil’s Hoof) and Matt Hayward (The Faithful).

For more information see www.seanoconnor.org