The council have been shortlisted for seven prestigious awards

by Rebecca Ryan

Congratulations to Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Council who have been shortlisted for seven Excellence in Local Government awards.

The awards are held annually in conjunction with the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, and will be presented for excellence in 16 different categories.

One Local Authority will be awarded the overall award and named Local Authority of the Year 2019.

The awards the council are up for are; Promoting Economic Development (Smart Sandyford), Local Authority Innovation (dlr Online Grants Management System), Sustainable Environment (Electric Dreams), Best Library Service (My Open Library at Deansgrange Library), Enhancing the Urban Environment (Otranto Seaside Gardens, Sandycove), Disability Services Provision (Changing Places) and Commemorations and Centenaries for the Sinking of the RMS Leinster.

Senator Victor Boyhan a member of the Oireachtas Committee on Local Government said he was particularly pleased that the Council has been shortlisted for seven separate award categories.

The Excellence in Local Government Award winners will be officially announced today, 28 November 2019 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Dublin.

Related Articles