Dublin home owners facing ‘property tax bombshell’

by Gazette Reporter

Home owners in some parts of Dublin are facing a “property tax bombshell” according to a Fine Gael councillor.

Councillors in three of Dublin’s four local authorities voted on Monday to set their Local Property Tax (LPT) rate for 2021, with one increasing its adjustment rate.

Home owners within Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown borough will face higher bills while the other three boroughs are applying the same adjustment rate as 2020 – meaning a 10% discount in Fingal and the optimum 15% discount in South Dublin County Council.

Dublin City Council deferred its LPT vote meaning city dwellers will have to wait until Monday of next week to find out what their rate will be.

DLR council’s ruling group of Fianna Fáil, Labour, Greens, Social Democrats and Independents could not agree a rate, which means the property tax will be charged in full for 2021, an effective increase of 15% from the current minus 15%.

South Dublin, the only council in Dublin where Fine Gael is in a ruling group, voted against any increase for hard pressed homeowners, according to Fine Gael Deputy Mayor David McManus. 

Cllr McManus said: “Residents in Rathfarnham, Templeogue, Tallaght, Knocklyon, Firhouse, Lucan, Clondalkin and Rathcoole will be the only homeowners in Dublin benefiting from the full property tax cut.

“The property tax cut of minus 15% which Fine Gael proposed at our council meeting today will save hard pressed homeowners €115 on a property worth around €400,000 next year.

“With unemployment at 15% and COVID-19 still devastating people’s livelihoods, we in Fine Gael believed it would be the worst possible time to expect homeowners to pay more.

“Every council has an annual budget and it is up to councillors to decide how revenue is raised or where savings are needed.”

A homeowner with a property worth between €550,000 and €600,000 in SDCC area will save €156 next year with the minus 15% discount, while a similar homeowner in DLR will pay an additional €156 in 2021, according to the Local Property Tax calculator.

Elected members on Dublin City Council are expected to vote on their local property tax on Monday 21 September.

Related Articles