Meet your new Fingal mayor and area mayors

by Rose Barrett

Have you been introduced to your new Fingal Mayor and his Deputy, asks Rose Barrett. Earlier this month, Cllr Howard Mahony (FF) was elected as the 17th Mayor of Fingal with Cllr Cathal Boland (Ind) elected as Deputy Mayor.

Cllr Mahony (Castleknock LEA) succeeds Cllr Seána Ó Rodaigh (Lab) and was unopposed in his election for Mayor. Joining Fingal County Council in 2016, Cllr Mahony spent over 30 years serving in An Garda Síochána where he was a detective, and always maintained a strong interest in community issues.

Cllr Boland (Rush-Lusk LEA) was also unopposed in the election for Deputy Mayor. He succeeded Cllr Daniel Whooley (Greens). A member of the first Fingal County Council in 1994, Cllr Boland was previously Cathaoirleach in 1998 and 2001, and Deputy Cathaoirleach in 1997.

Tributes were paid to outgoing Mayor, Cllr Ó Rodaigh by fellow councillors; she was praised for championing initiatives and delivering programmes to support mental health, youth and issues impacting women. AnnMarie Farrelly, FCC’s Chief Executive presented Cllr Ó Rodaigh with a Commemorative Medal and a photograph album recording her year in office.  

Cllr Grainne Maguire (Ind) was elected as Chair of the Balbriggan/Rush-Lusk/Swords Area Committee; Cllr Mary McCamley (Lab) was elected Chair of Blanchardstown/Mulhuddart/Castleknock/Ongar Area Committee with Cllr David Healy (Greens) elected Chair of Howth-Malahide LEA.

Related Articles