Dublin 15 schools take part in Futsal Respect Cup at Corduff Sports Centre

by Gary Ibbotson

Fifteen schools from Dublin 15 recently participated in the Schools Futsal Respect Cup in Corduff Sports Centre on Wednesday, October 23.

Jointly hosted by Football Association of Ireland (FAI) and Fingal County Council, the tournament saw 26 teams and nearly 300 players competing and having fun throughout the day.

In the girl’s tournament, group one winners, St. Ciaran’s National School ran out 5-2 winners over group two champions, St. Patrick’s National School of Castleknock.

The boy’s event saw St. Francis Xavier face off against Scoil Ghrainne after defeating their semi-final opponents, Mary Mother of Hope and St. Patrick’s National School, Castleknock respectively.

Scoil Ghrainne were crowned winners after narrowly defeating St. Francis Xavier by one goal to nil.

FAI and Fingal County Council Development Officers, Paul Breen and Jamie Wilson also co-ordinated a ‘Showed Racism the Red Card’ element to the afternoon’s showpiece.

Futsal is similar to five-a-side football matches, with the exception that the side boarding cannot be used to kick the ball off.

It is believed to have been founded in Argentina about 90 years ago with world-class players such Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar, Ronaldinho and Juninho playing the game early in their development.

Running alongside the futsal competition, students were encouraged to create an artistic piece depicting respect in a creative way. Students from St Francis of Assisi, Belmayne were awarded first prize and received €100 for their efforts.

Fingal County Council’s Principal Sports Officer, Marion Brown conveyed her thanks to all who made this event a success – especially to the schools and the students who participated in the day. 

“Event such as these which use not only sport but art to communicate the message of respect and anti-racism are extremely important,” she said.

The full list of participating schools: Scoil Choilm CNS, St. Francis Xavier Senior School, St. Ciaran’s NS, Scoil Ghráinne, Gaelscoil an Chuilinn, St. Patrick’s Senior NS, Powerstown ETNS, Hansfield ETNS, St. Philip’s SNS, St. Patrick’s NS, Mary Mother of Hope SNS, Scoil Bhríde Cailíní, Scoil Bhríde Buachaillí, Castaheaney ETNS, Ongar Village, Tyrrelstown ETNS.

Related Articles