The Yeats Sisters and Cuala, to open at Dundrum Library

by Alex Greaney
0 comment

An Exhibition of original Cuala Press material from the dlr libraries archives, along with a selection of contemporary textile works by members of the Irish Guild of Embroiderers, was opened by An Cathaoirleach of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, Cllr Denis O’Callaghan, on July 4th, in dlr Dundrum Public Library, writes Alex Greaney.

The exhibition will be open to the public between July 5th –July 22nd, during library opening hours.

This local exhibition is part of a wider commemoration project that aims to celebrate the aesthetic and cultural portfolio of the Yeats sisters, their entrepreneurship and contribution to female empowerment, and to promote the Yeats’ sisters and their family’s forty years of association with Churchtown and Dundrum.

A further event, an Inaugural Symposium, will be held on Saturday July 15th at Taney Parish Centre, Dundrum, County Dublin from 10.00 to 17.00.

This symposium will feature a number of fascinating papers, from leading academics, examining the lives of Susan and Elizabeth Yeats: their art, making, and meaning; contextualise the Yeats sisters’ contribution to the Irish revival; mark the 120th anniversary of ‘In the Seven Woods’ a volume of poetry by W.B. Yeats – the first book made at the Dun Emer Press in 1903; the Embroiderer within the Arts and Crafts movement, and explore the Yeats sisters and their pioneering enterprises.

Related Articles