Ireland’s first technological university formally established in city

by Dublin Gazette
0 comment

[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_column_text]Earlier this week, Ireland’s first technological university was formally established by law in Dublin.

Technological University Dublin – to be known as TU Dublin – comprises Dublin Institute of Technology, Institute of Technology Blanchardstown and Institute of Technology Tallaght, and became a formally recognised institution on January 1.

TU Dublin is now the largest higher education institution in Ireland, with more than 3,000 staff and 28,000 students across a number of campuses following the formal combination of the three Institutes of Technology.

The new university will be a ‘multi-campus’ university, with campuses remaining in Blanchardstown and Tallaght as well as in Grangegorman, in addition to a ‘virtual’ campus.

Students currently studying at DIT, ITB or ITT will become the first graduates from a technological university in the state, with the first awards expected to be given this year.

The passing of the legislation in March came years after the bill was initially proposed. The Technological Universities Bill was originally put forward in 2015.

In 2018, legislation was passed to pave the way for the three educational institutions to assimilate as Ireland’s first technological university, with another three similar institutions expected to be established in other parts of the country.

Last month, Minister for Education and Skills Joe McHugh, and Minister for Higher Education, Mary Mitchell O’Connor, announced that Professor David FitzPatrick is to be the first president of the new institution.

Minister McHugh and Minister Mitchell O’Connor have also announced the members of the first governing body of the institution, to be chaired by Professor Tom Collins.

The members of the board comprise Dr Caitriona Fisher, Imelda Reynolds, and Paddy Lavelle.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Related Articles