Sweden wins Eurovision and matches Ireland’s seven win tally

But Johnny Logan still the supreme Eurovision King!

by Rose Barrett
0 comment

As Sweden won last night’s Eurovision Song Contest, it has now equaled Ireland’s record-breaking seven wins.

Singer Loreen created new records also as she is the only female artist ever to have won the contest twice!

The singer lifted the glass microphone trophy once again, having won it previously in 2012, with this year’s entry, ‘Tattoo’ which was the bookies favourite in the lead up to the colourful competition.

The competition hosted at Liverpool’s M&S Bank Arena saw the Swedish entry romp home with a final tally of 340 points from 37 juries with Israel in second place with 177 points and Italy in third on 176 points.

The late Shay Healy and Johnny Logan

Only Finland threatened to steal Sweden’s thunder, with a massive 526 points from the public vote! But with 243 then announced from the public vote for Loreen’s song, Sweden retained its lead with an overall tally of 583 points!

Big disappointment for Wild Youth earlier in the week when they failed to reach the final despite a massive response from the Liverpool audience on the night.

Johnny still the Eurovision Supremo!

The Irish can at least take pride in Graham Norton’s performance and the fact that Johnny Logan still retains a unique feat: he too has won the Eurovision twice, with ‘Her win means that she equals the record held by Johnny Logan, who triumphed at the contest in both ‘What’s Another Year’ written by the late Shay Healy in 1980, and with his own composition ;Hold Me Now’ in 1987.

He further wrote the winning song ‘Why Me’ performed by Linda Martin who won in 1992, having previously finished second In 1984, with ‘Terminal 3’ also penned by Logan.

Feature image RTÉ News

Related Articles