Over 70 primary schools in Dublin receive awards for achievements in science, technology, engineering, and maths

by Gazette Reporter
0 comment

 The Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Simon Harris TD, announced today that 71 primary schools in Dublin will be awarded the Discover Science and Maths Award.

Led by Science Foundation Ireland (SFI), the programme aims to increase interest in science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) among primary school students, parents, and teachers, nationwide in a fun and engaging way.

Commenting on the awards, Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Simon Harris TD, said: “I want to congratulate all the students and the teachers that have been successful in winning an SFI Discover Primary Science and Maths Award in Dublin. The projects this year covered several important topics that will inevitably impact every one of us including climate change, plastics, and technology.

“I know the last few years haven’t been easy for children but yet again, we have seen their imaginations remain alive and they are working together to help us solve the big challenges we all face.

“I really hope students and their teachers will keep engaging with programmes such as this one and developing science, technology and maths within the school. Because we need so many big ideas and bright people to help us navigate our way through the big problems we are all dealing with.”

The awards celebrate and recognise the participation of schools in hands-on, inquiry-based learning in the areas of STEM.  This year, students focused on issues such as climate change, plastics, technology, and using STEM to solve everyday problems.

Congratulating the schools, Dr Ruth Freeman, Director of Science for Society at Science Foundation Ireland, said: “It is great to again get the opportunity to celebrate and reward so many primary school students in Dublin, and their teachers, for their excellent contributions to the SFI Discover Primary Science and Maths programme. We are committed to breaking down barriers and finding ways to make learning both accessible and engaging.  I hope that dated, stereotypical views of the types of people who work in STEM will soon be a thing of the past; as we look forward to the next generation of STEM workers and enthusiasts, we need to ensure that the full diversity of our society is reflected. There already is evidence of increasing levels of diversity amongst our research community, but more can still be done.  Engaging with primary school students and their families is a key component to achieving this.”

The awards offer three categories for applicants: The Certificate of STEM, is aimed at schools starting out on the STEM journey and involves a minimum of two classes. The Plaque of STEM, which is for schools further along their STEM journey, involves at least half of the classes in the school. The Badge of Excellence is for schools that have already achieved the Plaque and have continued to demonstrate excellence in raising awareness of STEM in their communities. This year, 57 Dublin schools received the Plaque of STEM, while 5 received the Badge of Excellence, and 8 received the Certificate of STEM.

The virtual award ceremony was attended by teachers and students from over 200 schools all over the country and included a live science show marking the close of this year’s programme.

SFI, in conjunction with the European Space Education Resource Office (ESERO), offers free continuous professional development (CPD) in STEM for primary school teachers. The programme explores the topics of biodiversity, insulation, and space through inquiry-based learning. The three workshops will provide teachers with a framework and planning tools to deliver hands-on STEM learning in the classroom. This CPD can be carried out virtually via Zoom. 

The recipient schools from Dublin who received Plaques of STEM are:

  1. St. Oliver Plunkett’s National School
  2. St. Declan’s Special School
  3. Hansfield Educate Together National School
  4. Scoil Mhuire, Dun Laoghaire
  5. St. Brigid’s Girls’ School
  6. St. Fiachra’s Senior National School
  7. St. Mary’s Boys National School
  8. St George’s National School
  9. Lucan Community National School
  10. Kiltiernan National School
  11. St Oliver Plunkett National School
  12. St Mary’s Boys National School, Lucan
  13. St Olaf’s National School
  14. St. Christopher’s Primary School
  15. St. Catherine’s National School
  16. North Dublin Muslim National School
  17. Harold Boys’ National School
  18. Malahide Portmarnock Educate Together National School
  19. Stapolin Educate Together National School
  20. St. Gabriels Primary School
  21. Mount Anville Montessori Junior School
  22. Presentation Primary School
  23. St Laurence’s National School
  24. Scoil Choilm Community National School
  25. St Eithne’s Senior Girls’ National School
  26. Clochar Lughaidh Naoidh
  27. Loreto College Junior School
  28. St. Kilian’s German National School
  29. St. Patrick’s Senior National School
  30. St. Ciarán’s National School
  31. Rathdown Junior School
  32. Scoil Aoife Community National School
  33. St. Kilian’s Junior School
  34. St. Raphaela’s Primary School
  35. St Helen’s Senior National School
  36. Scoil Ghrainne Community National School
  37. Pope John Paul II National School
  38. St Paul’s Special National School
  39. John Scottus National School
  40. St. Attracta’s Senior National School
  41. St Damian’s National School
  42. Scoil Carmel
  43. Lucan Educate Together National School
  44. St. Pius X Girls’ National School
  45. St Margaret’s National School
  46. Dalkey School Project
  47. Gaelscoil an Chuilinn
  48. Glenasmole National School
  49. St. Brigid’s Girls’ National School
  50. Castle Park School
  51. St Brigids Girls’ National School
  52. St. Mary’s National School
  53. Griffeen Valley Educate Together National School
  54. St. Paul’s Junior National School
  55. Gardiner Street Primary School
  56. Our Lady’s Grove Primary School
  57. St. Clare’s Primary School

The recipient schools from Dublin who received Badges of Excellence are:

  1. St. Michael’s College Junior School
  2. Lucan East Educate Together National School
  3. Scoil San Treasa
  4. Holy Family National School
  5. Holy Family National School

The recipient schools from Dublin who received Certificates of STEM are:

  1. Scoil Maelruain Junior
  2. Ballyboughal National School
  3. Scoil Náisiúnta Peadar agus Pol
  4. Harold’s Cross Educate Together National School
  5. Rush and Lusk Educate Together National School
  6. St Bernadette’s Junior National School
  7. Tyrrelstown Educate Together National School
  8. St Brendan’s Boys National School

Related Articles