Meet Fingal’s new Mayor: Cllr Adrian Henchy!

by Rose Barrett
0 comment

Fingal has a new mayor – Cllr Adrian Henchy (FF) was voted yesterday by fellow councillors to become the region’s 18th elected member to hold the prestigious title.

Originally from Portrane, and representing the Rush-Lusk electoral area, Cllr Henchy joined Fingal as a councillor in 2014. Through his involvement in numerous local initiatives and his work as a councillor, Mayor Henchy’s focus has always been on making a positive difference in the lives of the people he serves.

A dedicated health professional with a passion for public service, he said he is ready to usher in a new era of progress, collaboration, and innovative leadership for the area. Mayor Henchy succeeds Cllr Howard Mahony, who handed over the chains of office at Friday’s AGM.

In securing the role as Mayor, Cllr Henchy was nominated by Cllr Eoghan O’Brien (FF) who said it was a privilege and an honour to nominate him for the position. The nomination was seconded by Cllr Brian Dennehy (FF).

“I am humbled to have been elected to serve in this prestigious post,” said Mayor Adrian Henchy. “I am committed to working tirelessly to build a stronger, more inclusive, and vibrant Fingal. Together, with the support of our community, we can achieve great things and help build a Fingal that thrives economically, socially, and environmentally. I would particularly like to focus on delivering more houses, not just the bricks and mortar of the homes themselves but also ensuring we are building sustainable communities around them.”

Mayor of Fingal Cllr Adrian Henchy (right) and Deputy Mayor Gráinne Maguire who were elected at Friday’s AGM
Pic Orla Murray/Coalesce

Cllr Grainne Maguire (Ind for Balbriggan, above with Mayor Henchy) will serve as Deputy Mayor of Fingal for the second time. She was nominated by Cllr Tony Murphy (Ind) and seconded by Cllr Karen Power (GP). Joining as a Balbriggan councillor in 2013, Cllr Maguire had previously served on Balbriggan Town Council from 2009.

She has extensive experience in local government and is a well-known figure in Ireland’s youngest town for the work she does across many different groups and for her passion around local issues. 

At the AGM, praise was given to the outgoing Mayor and also to Deputy Mayor, Cllr Cathal Boland, for their unwavering service to the people of Fingal over the last year.

A strong advocate of Dublin 15, former Mayor, Cllr Howard Mahony, has undertaken a large number of activities during his term, attending 365 community and Council related events across the year. He also helped to steer the Fingal Development Plan (2023-2029) through to it coming into effect in April this year. As part of his duties as first citizen of Fingal, Cllr Mahony also got to greet US President Joe Biden on his arrival into Dublin.

The three new Chairs of the LEA areas Cllr Ian Carey (GP), Cllr Eoghan O’Brien (FF) and Cllr Tom Kitt (FF) : Pic Orla Murray/Coalesce

Along with today’s election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, Fingal Councillors also elected the Chairs of each of the three Area Committees. The focus of these committees is on local delivery of services to the respective area, be it for the likes of road related issues, litter, playgrounds, water services, housing or libraries.

The Chairs elected this year are Balbriggan/Rush-Lusk/Swords: Cllr Ian Carey (GP); Blanchardstown-Mulhuddart/Castleknock/Ongar: Cllr Tom Kitt (FF) and Cllr Eoghon O’Brien (FF) in Howth Malahide.

Feature photo Mayor of Fingal Cllr Adrian Henchy (left) and Deputy Mayor Gráinne Maguire who were elected at Friday’s AGM Pic Orla Murray/Coalesce

Related Articles