New Lord Mayor to be selected at meeting next week

by Dublin Gazette
0 comment

A new Lord Mayor for Dublin will be selected later this month, after current Lord Mayor Paul McAuliffe was elected to Dáil Eireann in the recent general election.

McAuliffe (FF) moved out of the Mansion House last Friday after his success, with Deputy Lord Mayor Tom Brabazon wearing the gold chain until a new Lord Mayor – who will be a member of Fianna Fail – is voted in.

There is an agreement with council parties in Dublin City Council, whereby each party takes a turn in hosting a Lord Mayor.

Currently, there are nine Fianna Fail councillors sitting on Dublin City Council – Daryl Bannon, Racheal Batten, Deputy Lord Mayor Tom Brabazon, Keith Connolly, Deirdre Conroy, Daithi De Roiste, Mary Fitzpatrick, Claire O’Connor and Michael Watters.

A vote will be held at the next full council meeting, on February 24. Any other councillors who were elected to Dáil Eireann will also have their seats ‘co-opted’ by other members of their party, to fill vacant seats.

The elected Mayor will only hold the position until June, however, where the Green Party will put forward one of their councillors to take on the role for the next term.

Related Articles