County’s Tidy Towns polish off top award wins

by Emma Nolan
0 comment

THE hard work of three towns in Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown paid off as Dalkey, Cabinteeley and Shankill took home awards in this year’s Tidy Towns competition.
Dalkey came in the top 5% of all 870 entries and won the gold medal in the category for populations of between 5,001 and 10,000.
The town also won a Highly Commended award in the County awards – another prized category.
The team thanked everyone who worked tirelessly throughout the year to keep them up there with the best of the best, saying: “Thank you also to the council, our shop keepers, business owners and neighbours, who all did their bit to achieve this major recognition.”
Present at the Helix Theatre to hear the good news were Dalkey Tidy Towns members Susan McDonnell, Des Burke-Kennedy, Frank Dillon and Terry Wheatley.
In Cabinteely, the team were awarded a silver medal and received a County award for the third-highest points score in the Dublin region.
Cllr Cormac Devlin congratulated the team on their hard work, saying: “Congratulations to everyone involved. An excellent result – well done!”
Local environmental awareness officer Dean Eaton said: “A fantastic achievement and well deserved. Well done to everyone who helped out during the last year. Target-locked on a gold now!”
In Shankill, the team took home a silver medal. Speaking on their win, local organisers said: “We couldn’t have done it without the help of all our amazing volunteers, you really are the best. Let the celebrations begin…”
Tanaiste Frances Fitzgerald also extended her congratulations to local areas that had performed well in the competition, and encouraged anyone who feels strongly about their community to get involved with Tidy Towns.
She said: “The work carried out by Tidy Towns groups is so vital, not only in terms of keeping our communities looking beautiful – it helps improve the quality of life of residents.”
This year’s overall winner was Birdhill in Co Tipperary, which also picked up the Ireland’s Tidiest Village award.

Related Articles