Mayor honours Community Heroes 

by Gazette Reporter
0 comment

Mayor of South Dublin County Council, Cllr. Emma Murphy held a Community Heroes award at the weekend in County Hall Tallaght. 

The event was attended by councillors and their Community Hero nominees who celebrated the wealth of community and volunteer work across the county. Each Councillor nominated a community hero from their electoral area.

Speaking at the event Mayor Murphy said: “I decided to hold these “Community Hero Awards” as the level of community work can sometimes go unnoticed, in fact it may only be noticed in its absence. It’s important to acknowledge as many members as possible of our community who give their time and energy to benefit all our lives and make South Dublin an amazing place to live. The measure of any location is the people that inhabit it.”

The twenty-seven Community Hero Award winners were:  Mary Stagg Ong from Palmerstown, Terry Carthy from Heatherview, Tallaght, Joe Maughan from Sacred Heart FC, Marie Mulligan from Fettercairn Youth Club, Des Bannon from Clondalkin, Clondalkin Tidy Towns, Connie Kiernan from Liffey Valley Park Alliance, The Adamstown Cricket Club, Lucan Festival, Lucan Tidy Towns, Alan O’Flaherty of Dodder Valley Cycling, Rathfarnham Concert Band Society, The Stepping Stone Forest volunteers, Teresa Harford from Firhouse, Katherine McKenna from Tallaght, Jen Donohue from Web Project Ballyboden, Tony Delaney from Whitechurch Boxing Club, Jimmy Conlon from Wanderers GAA Club, Ballyboden, Prospect Manor Residents Association, Tara De Buitléar of Tallaght Community Council,Tymon North and St Aongus Tidy Towns Group., Tom and Linda O’Connor from Templeogue, Women’s Collective Ireland in Lucan, Darkness Into Light Committee, Vincent Dolan from Clondalkin Youth Band, James Casserly of Jimbos Accessible Adventures, Kilnamanagh Residents Association Clean and Green Team 

Related Articles