Coláiste Phádraig CBS Lucan Awards Night 2019

by Padraig Conlon
0 comment

The annual Coláiste Phádraig CBS Lucan Awards Night was held in a packed Sports Hall last Monday week.

An estimated crowd of 550 were in attendance as parents, family, friends, students and staff gathered together to celebrate a whole host of award winners at the biggest and most important event in the school calendar.

There were close to 200 students in attendance and each one had been selected for an award in recognition of some commendable achievement in the school throughout the year.

The opening awards were for academic excellence, with beautiful glass plaques presented to one student from each year group for each academic subject.

In total, there were 90 of these awards given out to recognise and reward the students for their excellent results in the various subjects throughout the academic year.

Well done to all of the winners in this section as attaining the highest grades in a Year Group demands a ferocious work ethic and sustained application.

There were also awards for the best Leaving Cert results which went to Calvin Davis and Dáire Byrne for achieving the maximum 625 points in 2018.

Dáire attained 8H1s while Calvin had to settle for “just” 7H1s! Dáire is currently studying Maths in The University of Edinburgh while Calvin is studying medicine in UCD.

Sabah Uddin Aleem and Alex Knowles received plaques for the highest Junior Cert results last year as both attained 9As in their exams.

The majority of awards on the night were non-academic with those involved in any extra-curricular activity in the school getting some recognition for their efforts.

There were awards for the 14 BT Young Scientist Finalists, the hugely successful musicians in the Music Club, the Student Council and Green Schools Committee members, the Prefects and the Current Affairs Club members.

Student of the Year awards from each class were also given out while there were a large number of co-operation and courtesy merit awards presented to students who have impressed with their attitude and manners throughout the year.

Some won awards for outstanding personal achievements while others got plaques for English drama, overcoming adversity, having a positive attitude and showing initiative and leadership.  

Player of the year awards from the various sports were also presented, as well as awards to students who have represented the Dublin Minors in hurling and Ireland in soccer.

Daniel Emerson won the coveted Ryan McKeown Perpetual Shield for outstanding contribution to English class.

The final 5 awards presented on the night were the main awards.

Adam Wells won the coveted Sports Star of the Year Award in recognition of his outstanding displays for the u17 soccer team throughout the season.

Adam captained the team to Leinster Cup and All Ireland success and also played for the Ireland u16 International team.

Kevin McGrane won the Transition Year Student of the Year in recognition of his enormous contribution to TY.

Dylan Talbot, Eamonn Feeney, Emmanuel Owodinni, Eoin Strong and Craig O’ Hara all won coveted From Each, His Best awards for their various year groups in recognition of giving of their best at all times in every aspect of school life. Craig also won the overall award so a special well done to him on winning such a prestigious trophy.

6th yrs Keith Quinn and Thomas Heffernan were the joint winners of the Padraic Naughton Award for all round contribution to school life.

This award is named after the 1st lay principal of Coláiste Phádraig (1989-2002). Padraic did the vast majority of the groundwork in laying the foundations for the wonderful new school building and facilities that the students now enjoy so the award recognises those who do a lot for the school in their time here.

Both Keith and Thomas have impressed with their good manners, cheerfulness, positive attitudes, respect for teachers and staff as well as their outstanding work as prefects in which both displayed leadership, initiative and maturity.

The main award of the night, The Tommy Brennan Student of the Year, was won by Aaron Byrne.

The award, named after a former teacher of Coláiste Phádraig, is voted for by teachers and management and it is always a tough choice.

Fifteen 6th yr students were nominated for this award but eventually a winner has to be selected and Aaron was selected due to his infectious positivity, impeccable manners and overall contribution to school life.

A number of Transition Year students were also in attendance as they set up a stall with a huge range of plants they grew themselves in the Poly tunnel during their Horticulture module with Mr. Dunne.

The students had the plants on sale to raise money for the school’s Zambia 2020 project which they are hoping to go on next summer.

An enjoyable night was had by all and Ms. Redmond and Ms. O’ Leary did a great job introducing and presenting the awards throughout the evening.

Ms. Casey once gain ensured everything went smoothly on the night with her meticulous preparation and distribution of the awards.

Vivienne Ralph, from Diamond & Gem Jewellers in Tesco Shopping Centre in Lucan, provided all of the fabulous awards for the ceremony and was a constant support right up until the last few frenzied hours of preparation while the Coláiste Phádraig Parents Association generously sponsored some of the awards on the night.

It was a very positive evening for all in attendance and the parents can be very proud of their sons for whatever award (or awards!) they were presented with during Coláiste Phadraig’s highly successful Awards Night 2019.

Related Articles