Murray to get IFTA Lifetime Achievement Award

by Rachel Cunningham
0 comment

Rachel Cunningham

The Irish Film & Television Academy (IFTA), which celebrates 20 years this year, will present Dublin actor Bryan Murray with the Irish Academy Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the world of film and television.

He will receive the award on Wednesday, December 13, at a special reception at the Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin.

From stage to screen performances, Bryan’s career has spanned over five decades. A native of Dublin, he is a household name for his long-running role as Bob Charles on the RTE soap Fair City.

From Flurry Knox in The Irish R.M. to Trevor Jordache in British drama Brookside, his performances have entertained and resonated with audiences across the decades.

In film, he has appeared in A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, The Disturbance at Dinner, Boy Eats Girl, Vita & Virginia and The Professor and the Madman.

As a television presenter, he has hosted shows likeEncore and The Tenements, which garnered critical acclaim and an IFTA nomination.

He has worked alongside Irish and international actors over the years, including Judi Dench, Peter O’Toole, Rita Tushingham, Anna Friel, John Gielgud, David Kelly and Sean Penn, among others.

Bryan’s career began at the Abbey Theatre, where he has been involved in more than 50 productions, and his stage career has also included stints at London’s Royal National Theatre and the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Bryan has been widely praised in recent years for his candid public speaking on his diagnosis of Alzheimers, while continuing to give fantastic performances four nights a week in Fair City.

Reacting to the news, Bryan Murray expressed how honoured he feels to be acknowledged.

“I feel highly emotional, that’s amazing. I wish my mother and father were alive to be part of this,” said Bryan.

“Bryan’s commitment to his craft and the richness of his contributions across theatre, television, and film are exceptional,” said Áine Moriarty, Chief Executive of IFTA.

“He is an integral part of the Irish entertainment industry, and we are immensely proud to recognise his outstanding career with this well-deserved honour.”

Previous recipients of the IFTA Lifetime Achievement Awards have included icons such as Judi Dench, Maureen O’Hara, Liam Neeson, Gabriel Byrne, Jim Sheridan, Fionnula Flanagan, Joan Bergin.

Related Articles