ATHLETICS: Dublin graded track & field meet

by Gazette Reporter
0 comment

Lindie Naughton

James Whelan of Raheny Shamrock AC ran the fastest 3000m time of the night at the final Dublin Graded Track and Field Meet in Santry.

Whelan was running in the B race and finished in a time of 8:49.31. In the A race, Conor Burke of Celbridge AC was the winner in 8:59.16. Burke was chased hard by Dylan O’Brien of Raheny Shamrock AC who finished second in 9:00.24. Dylan Wright of Lucan Harriers was third in 9:11.53.

Winning the women’s 3000m in 9:51.57 was Cliona Murphy of Dublin City Harriers. First home in the women’s grade A mile was Louise Gaffney of Rathfarnham WSAF AC in 5:10.99. A close second in 5:11.76 was Maria Jones of Sportsworld AC who had led in the opening laps.  

Conall Connell  of Raheny Shamrock AC won the men’s A mile in  4:26.043, followed by Cian Hodgins of Nenagh Olympic AC in 4:27.09.

Winning the men’s A 400m in 49.26 secs was Robert Hewison of Kildare AC.  

Close to 50 athletes had entered the men’s 400m, with four grade D races, held under floodlights as the evening light faded.  

Fastest of the women was  Claire Mooney, now with Crusaders AC, who won the B race in 56.30 secs.  

Mooney was national indoors  400m champion in 2018.  Zoie Richie of Rathfarnham WSAF AC  had won the A race in 57.81 secs. Angela Castell Rodriguez  of Raheny Shamrock AC was second in 58.42 and Daisy Walker of Monaghan Phoenix AC third in 58.50.

In the field, national champion Michael Bowler of Enniscorthy AC had three failed attempted at 4.80m, but still won the competition with a  4.60m height.  

Simon Galligan of Clonliffe Harriers won the men’s hammer with a 62.72 throw,  followed by Lusk AC’s Stephen Fee with 61.14m.

Nicola Tuthill of UCD AC was best of the women with 66.39. Alina Duran of Tallaght AC threw 61.14 and Margaret Hayden, also Tallaght AC, 60.83m.

Related Articles