30km speed limits are now in effect

by Emma Nolan

THE new 30km speed limits in residential areas commenced in Dun Laoghaire Rathdown this week.
The council’s Special Speed Limit Bye Laws were amended to reduce speed limits on residential roads to 30 km/h – a move that has been welcomed by local TD and Minister for Transport, Shane Ross.
Minister Ross told The Gazette that he is “delighted” with the new measures.
“Since becoming the Minister for Transport, I have been consistently looking at every possible way to save lives on our roads and am delighted that my local county council shares that commitment.”
At the February council meeting, councillors voted to introduce a new 30km/h special speed limit in 742 identified housing estates and local residential roads in DLR.
A spokesperson for the council said that a 5km/h difference in speed could be the difference between life and death for a vulnerable road user.
“Hit by a car at 50km/h, five out of 10 pedestrians will be killed. But hit by a car at 30km/h, this figure reduces significantly to one out of 10 pedestrians.”
Minister Ross added: “This measure has been adopted by several other councils around the country and is being supported by funds made available from my department for new signage.
“It is hoped that this measure will make our estates and residential areas safer and more welcoming for children and residents to enjoy, free from fear of inappropriate road speed and the danger that it carries.”
Cllr Deirdre Donnelly (Ind) said: “I really welcome the speed limit for residential ares in Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown.
“Sadly there are many estates across the county that are being used as short-cuts by motorists who travel at high speed.
“This is unacceptable and I have raised this issue at meetings on a number of occasions over the last few years.
“I have also been in ongoing discussion over the last year with the Minister for Transport about this problem.
“I hope that the newly introduced speed limit will make residential areas safer for children, the elderly and all residents.”
The full list of the 742 residential areas can be found on dlrcoco.ie.

Related Articles