New mayor and deputy mayor elected

by Rachel Cunningham
0 comment

A new mayor and deputy mayor were elected at the annual meeting of South Dublin County Council, on Friday, June 30, writes Rachel Cunningham.

Councillor Alan Edge (Independent) representing the Firhouse and Bohernabreena electoral area was elected as the mayor of South Dublin County. 

Councillor Edge was proposed by Councillor Mick Duff (Independent) and was seconded by Councillor Lyn Hagin-Meade (Green Party).

Councillor Yvonne Collins (Fianna Fáil), representing the Rathfarnham and Templeogue area, was elected as the deputy mayor.

Councillor Collins was proposed by her party colleague Councillor Charlie O’Connor and seconded by Councillor Pamela Kearns (Labour).

Tributes were also paid to outgoing mayor, Councillor Emma Murphy (Fianna Fail), and to the outgoing deputy Mmayor, Councillor Joanna Tuffy (Labour), who thanked their fellow Councillors, Chief Executive, Colm Ward and the management and staff of the Council for their help and support during their term in office.

Mayor  Edge pledged to visit every community centre in the county, as part of a campaign to encourage people to their local centre and to support the introduction of Sláintecare initiatives.

Related Articles