Dublin STEM students receive scholarship as part of  award programme  

by Alex Greaney
0 comment

On Thursday November 16th, six students from Dublin were amongst 62 students from across five Irish universities who have been awarded scholarships as part of the prestigious Women in STEM2D (WiSTEM2D) Undergraduate Awards at the first ever national event held in Thomond Park Stadium, Limerick. 

The Award recognises outstanding female students in STEM2D disciplines: Science, Technology, Engineering, Maths, Manufacturing, and Design. Sixty-two students from Trinity College Dublin, University of Limerick, University College Cork, University of Galway, and Munster Technology University have received scholarships as part of the programme. 

This is the eighth year of the annual awards programme, showcasing the company’s commitment to advancing female excellence in STEM fields. This is the first year that the company has brought all recipients together for a day-long event, with all attendees benefitting from a unique learning experience, including workshops, and breakout sessions, carefully tailored to foster their growth and provide them with the essential skills and knowledge needed to prepare them for a successful career.  

Research published by the Higher Education Authority earlier this year identified that 35% of students in STEM-related courses at third level are female. Furthermore, the HEA noted that the gender gap continues to remain evident at post-primary level. Johnson & Johnson recognises the importance of inspiring students to consider a career in STEM, and is committed to igniting the spark of curiosity in young minds, nurturing the STEM leaders of tomorrow, and maintaining a robust talent pipeline to support the life sciences industry. 

The six Dublin students selected to receive the scholarships are:  

  •     Sorcha Higgins; Bioscience; University of Limerick;  
  •     Labiba Mansur; Bachelor of Arts in Engineering; Trinity College Dublin; 
  •     Natalia Melnicka; Engineering; Trinity College Dublin;  
  •     Caoimhe O’ Sullivan; Engineering; Trinity College Dublin;  
  •     Panagiota Paraskevopoulou; Engineering; Trinity College Dublin; 
  •     Delia Ruxandra Vlad; Biological and Biomedical Sciences; Trinity College Dublin;


Related Articles