91 candidates to compete for 40 seats in Fingal

by Rose Barrett
0 comment

There will be 91 candidates battling for 40 seats across seven local electoral areas in Fingal County Council on Friday, June 7.  

WIth 19 non-party candidates in the field, Sinn Féin with 15 is running the most candidates among the political parties followed by Fianna Fáil with 13. Fine Gael have eight as have Labour, while the Green Party will field seven. 

People Before Profit (PBP) – Solidarity is running six candidates while the Social Democrats have five candidates and Aontú four. The Irish Freedom Party have two candidates and one standing for Independents4Change, the Irish People, and the National Party.

There are 34 female candidates seeking election this year – an increase of seven from 2019 when 27 ran. One woman, Aneta Laska, is running in two local electoral areas.  

Thirty-nine of the outgoing 40 councillors are running for re-election following Cllr Natalie Treacy’s decision to seek election to Dublin City Council.

Polling takes place on June 7 with 53 polling stations open from 7am to 10pm. Counting of the votes will take place at the National Show Centre in Swords from Saturday, June 8.

The list of candidates as of Saturday last now stands as nominations have closed.  Candidates have until 12 noon today, Monday 20 withdraw their name before the final list is declared by the returning officer.

Balbriggan Local Electoral Area (5 seats)

1.    Anne Marie Brady (Sinn Féin)

2.    Sinéad Lucey Brennan (Fianna Fáil)

3.    Bryn Edwards (People Before Profit – Solidarity)

4.    Aneta Laska (Non-Party)

5.    Gráinne Maguire (Non-Party)

6.    Derek McLoughlin (Non-Party)

7.    Tony Murphy (Non-Party)

8.    John Oakes (Irish Freedom Party)

9.    Tom O’Leary (Fine Gael)

10. Karen Power (Green Party/Comhaontas Glas)

11. Malachy Quinn (Sinn Féin)

12. Brendan Ryan (The Labour Party)

13. Oghenetano John Uwhumiakpor (Non-Party)

Blanchardstown / Mulhuddart Local Electoral Area (5 seats)

1.    Damien Bissett (Sinn Féin)

2.    John Burtchaell (People Before Profit – Solidarity)

3.    Shashank Chakerwarti (Non-Party)

4.    Susanne Delaney (Non-Party)

5.    Neil Dowling (Social Democrats)

6.    Breda Hanaphy (Sinn Féin)

7.    Andy Heasman (The Irish People)

8.    Louise Kavanagh (Sinn Féin)

9.    Robbie Loughlin (Aontú)

10. Mary McCamley (The Labour Party)

11. Lorna Nolan (Fianna Fáil)

12. Oisín Ó Halmhain (Green Party)

13. JK Onwumereh (Fianna Fáil)

14. Steve O’Reilly (Fine Gael)

15. Patrick Quinlan (The National Party)

Castleknock Local Electoral Area (6 seats)

1.    Eimear Carbone-Mangan (Fianna Fáil)

2.    Pamela Conroy (Green Party/ Comhaontas Glas)

3.    Ruth Coppinger (People Before Profit – Solidarity)

4.    Luke Daly (Social Democrats)

5.    Ted Leddy (Fine Gael)

6.    Phil Lynam (Sinn Féin)

7.    Howard Mahony (Fianna Fail)

8.    Siobhan Shovlin (Fine Gael)

9.    Ellen Troy (Aontú)

10. John Walsh (The Labour Party)

Howth / Malahide Local Electoral Area (7 seats)

1.    Tara Bailey (Sinn Féin)

2.    Kevin Doherty (Sinn Féin)

3.    Margaret Donnellan (Non-Party)

4.    Jimmy Guerin (Non-Party)

5.    Cathal Haughey (Fianna Fáil)

6.    David Healy (Green Party)

7.    Joan Hopkins (Social Democrats)

8.    Vedh Kannan (Non-Party)

9.    Anthony Lavin (Fine Gael)

10. Brian McDonagh (The Labour Party)

11. Jamie McGlue (Non-Party)

12. Margaret McGovern (Aontú)

13. Motseta Rachel Ndlovu (Non-Party)

14. Eoghan O’Brien (Fianna Fáil)

15. Aoibhinn Tormey (Fine Gael)

Rush / Lusk Local Electoral Area (5 seats)

1.    Cathal Boland (Non-Party)

2.    Brian Dennehy (Fianna Fáil)

3.    Eoghan Dockrell (Fine Gael)

4.    Adrian Henchy (Fianna Fáil)

5.    Corina Johnston (The Labour Party)

6.    Aneta Laska (Non-Party)

7.    Paul Mulville (Social Democrats)

8.    Fergal O’Connell (Non-Party)

9.    Robert O’Donoghue (The Labour Party)

10. Patrick Roche (Sinn Féin)

11. Suzanne Young (Green Party/ Comhaontas Glas)

Ongar Local Electoral Area (5 seats)

1.    Asad Ali (Fianna Fáil)

2.    Kieran Dennison (Fine Gael)

3.    Andrew Doyle (People Before Profit – Solidarity)

4.    Tania Doyle (Non-Party)

5.    Declan Cairns (Sinn Féin)

6.    Angela Donnelly (Sinn Féin)

7.    Paul Fitzsimons (Irish Freedom Party)

8.    Michelle Griffin (Green Party)

9.    Tom Kitt (Fianna Fáil)

10. Nancy Khisa Nekesa (The Labour Party)

11. Ellen Murphy (Social Democrats)

12. Niall O’Donoghue (Sinn Féin)

13. Kate Relihan (People Before Profit – Solidarity)

14. Gerard Sheehan (Aontú)

Swords Local Electoral Area (7 seats)

1.    Marian Buckley (Sinn Féin)

2.    Darragh Butler (Fianna Fáil)

3.    Ian Carey (Green Party/ Comhaontas Glas)

4.    Luke Corkery (Fine Gael)

5.    James Humphries (The Labour Party)

6.    Ann Graves (Sinn Féin)

7.    Darren Jack Kelly (Non-Party)

8.    Conor Linnane (Sinn Féin)

9.    Brigid Manton (Fianna Fáil)

10. Dean Mulligan (Independents4Change)

11. Joe Newman (Non-Party)

12. Ollie Power (People Before Profit – Solidarity)

13. Bernadette Wright (Non-Party)

Related Articles