[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_column_text]Trinity College is located in the heart of the Dublin City and home to the stunning Book of Kells.
Trinity is also Ireland’s highest ranked university. It is home to 17,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students across all the major disciplines in the arts and humanities, and in business, law, engineering, science, and health sciences.
For visitors, Authenticity Tours offers a combined ticket which incorporates discounts on the cost of a guided tour of Trinity College Dublin and the admission fee to the Book of Kells and Old Library Exhibition.
Lasting 35 minutes, the tour encompasses the four major squares of the College. It provides visitors with an insight into the more than four-hundred-year history of the College. All of the guides are knowledgeable and enthusiastic students of Trinity College Dublin.
The Book of Kells:
The Book of Kells Exhibition is a must-see on the itinerary of all visitors to Dublin and attracts over half a million visitors to the college each year.
The Book of Kells is Ireland’s greatest cultural treasure and the world’s most famous medieval manuscript. The 9th century book is a richly decorated copy of the four Gospels of the life of Jesus Christ.
Originally a single volume, it was rebound in four volumes in 1953 for conservation reasons. On display in Trinity since the 19th century, two volumes are normally on display, one opened at a major decorated page, the other at a text opening. It is accompanied by two pocket gospels.
In 2008, a forgotten corner of Trinity College Dublin was transformed into a living experiment called Science Gallery Dublin.
Internationally recognised as a leading cultural venue, Science Gallery Dublin presents contemporary art and science exhibitions alongside a cutting-edge programme of events including talks, workshops, music performances, food presentations and film screenings.
With three exhibition openings a year, the themes explored change regularly and vary widely from light to love and the end of the world to fakery.
The Long Room:
The main chamber of the Old Library is the Long Room.
At nearly 65 metres in length, it is filled with 200,000 of the Library’s oldest books and is one of the most impressive libraries in the world.
Other treasures in the Long Room include one of the few remaining copies of the 1916 Proclamation of the Irish Republic which was read outside the General Post Office on 24 April 1916 by Patrick Pearse at the start of the Easter Rising.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][/vc_column][/vc_row]